Wake Forest was seeded  Monday as the overall No. 1 team in the NCAA men’s soccer tournament, leading the way for a record-tying nine teams from the Atlantic Coast Conference.

In all, the ACC has seven of the top 12 seeds in the tournament with No. 3 North Carolina, No. 4 Louisville, No. 6 Duke, No. 8 Clemson, No. 11 Virginia and No. 12 Notre Dame. Also making the tournament from the ACC are Virginia Tech and N.C. State.

The 48-team field will begin action with first-round games on Thursday with the winners advancing to play the top 16 seeds on their home fields on Sunday.

The Demon Deacons, who won the ACC regular season and tournament championships, was the runner up in the NCAA tournament last year. Wake Forest won the NCAA title in 2007.

The field includes 24 conferences champions and 24 at-large selections.

Second-seeded Indiana, which has won eight NCAA titles, is making its 42nd appearance. The Hoosiers, who were upset in the finals of the Big Ten tournament by Wisconsin via a penalty kick tiebreaker after a scoreless draw, are jointed in the field by the Badgers, No. 7 seed Michigan State, No. 13 Michigan and former ACC school Maryland.

Two-time defending champion Stanford is the No. 9 seed.

The third round will be played Nov. 25 and 26, while the quarterfinals will be played Dec. 1 and 2. The Men’s College Cup will be held Dec. 8 and 10 at Talen Energy Stadium in Philadelphia with live coverage on ESPNU for the semifinals and ESPN2 for the national championship game.

The complete bracket:




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s